Eupalinos Tunnel – First Tunnel to be excavated simultaneously from both ends in the 6th centurty B.C.

Eupalinos Tunnel – First Tunnel to be excavated simultaneously from both ends in the 6th centurty B.C.

Eupalinos Tunnel - First Tunnel to be excavated simultaneously from both ends in the 6th centurty B.C.

The Young Members Groups of the Tunnelling Association of Canada and of the Greek Tunnelling Society (GTS Young Members) organize a joint event – Online Webinar – on Thursday, August 13th (19.00 – EEST (Athens), 12.00 EDT (Toronto), 09.00 PDT (Vancouver), 17.00 London Time).

The lectures on “Eupalinos Tunnel – First Tunnel to be excavated simultaneously from both ends in the 6th centurty B.C.” will be delivered by Prof. @Nicholas Vlachopoulos, Professor at Royal Military College of Canada

Book your place at: https://events.r20.constantcontact.com/register/eventReg?oeidk=a07eh7mjqn786c4e685&oseq

The Eupalinos Tunnel is considered one of the most significant engineering achievements of antiquity as it involved simultaneous excavations from both ends of the tunnel, 2500 year ago. This was the first time in history that anyone had ventured to undertake a project of such a magnitude without an analogous reference.

The ITA-AITES declared, in 2015, the Eupalinos Tunnel as an “International Tunnelling Landmark” (WTC 2015 – Dubrovnik, Croatia)
#WTC2023
#AthensWTC2023
#WTC2023Greekcandidacy

 

Recent News

Contact Info

Phone: (+30) 210 6833600

Fax: (+30) 210 6847700

E-mail: eesye.gr@gmail.com, info@athenswtc2023.gr

Visit GTS: www.eesye.gr

Leave a Reply